And The Winners Are…

By: Daniel Friedman

Tuesday’s elections featured important races on several levels of government. On Page 4, The Advocate has broken down the vote tallies in the Monsey community by Election District, to demonstrate which candidates had the support of the community at large.

The following is a summary of all the election results in the area:

One of the most watched races this year has been the election for Rockland’s top office: County Executive. Republican incumbent C. Scott Vanderhoef defeated Democratic challenger and Orangetown supervisor Thom Kleiner by a vote of 32,361 to 27,753. County Clerk Paul Piperato faced no opposition, and was the top vote-getter in
Rockland, receiving 49,757 votes.
In Ramapo, Supervisor St. Lawrence handily defeated Preserve Ramapo candidate Bruce Levine by a margin of 13,505 to 7,672. In the race for the town board, David J. Stein and Yitzy Ullman received 11,787 and 11,391 votes respectively. They defeated two Preserve Ramapo candidates by more than two to one, and two Republican candidates by almost four to one.
In the race for Ramapo town justice, incumbent Judge Rhoda Schoenberger was re-elected with 13,533 votes, beating Preserve Ramapo candidate Marc Citrin, who had 5,557 votes. Anthony Sharan, the Ramapo Superintendent of Highways, was re-elected with 13,148 votes. He ran unopposed.
In the race for mayor of Spring Valley, Democrat Noramie Jasmin earned 2,236 votes to Republican Allan Thompson’s 1,019 votes. Legislator Jacques Michel received 1% of the vote in the race with 41 votes.
There were two seats up for election on the Spring Valley village board. First-time candidate Joseph Gross came in first out of five candidates for the position, with 2,266 votes. Joseph Desmaret, who along with Gross won the Democratic Primary in September, had 1,956 votes, earning him the second spot on the board. Ebony Thompson came in next with 847 votes, Yesly Sandoval with 80, and Dantes Jeantel with 58.
After a superb showing in the primary for village justice in Spring Valley, David Fried and Alan Simon capped off their campaigns by defeating Vladimir Leon by more than ten to one, giving each of them a judgeship. Fried won 2,672 votes, and Simon had 2,473, while Leon was given 250 votes.
In Suffern, Democratic Trustee Dagan LaCorte was elected mayor with 1,128 votes. His opponent, former Republican Mayor James J. Giannettino, lost with 879 votes, and incumbent Mayor John B. Keegan, who abandoned his campaign after losing the primary, had 488.
On the village board, LaCorte’s running mates, Bruce Simon and Patricia Abato, received 1,089 and 1,025 votes, respectively, giving them both a seat on the board. They defeated Irene C. Walsh, who had 923 votes, Robert J. Morris, who was given 831 votes, Rosemary H. Schultz, who earned 375 votes, and James A. Destefano, who came in last with 363 votes.

  • Trackbacks are closed for this post.
  • No comments exist for this post.
Leave a comment

Submitted comments are subject to moderation before being displayed.

 Name (required)

 Email (will not be published) (required)


Your comment is 0 characters limited to 3000 characters.